A trip on the Severnaya Dvina to the Severnaya Dvina (eventually)

SEVERNAYA_DVINA
Picture by Cor van der Leer via http://www.marinetraffic.com

For the coming weeks I’ll be working as master on the brandnew Damen TSHD2000 “Severnaya Dvina” to deliver the vessel from Da Nang in Vietnam to Europe, initially to Rotterdam in the Netherlands and later maybe even further to Archangelsk in Russia. (Severnaya Dvina is a river in Northern Russia, this river ends in Archangelsk, the future working area of the vessel.)
It’s going to be an interesting trip, via Singapore, Suez-canal & Gibraltar Strait (and all connecting waters of course) to the North Sea, gonna take about 8 weeks. Our progress can be followed through the services of Marinetraffic.com but I’m not sure if it will work while we are passing the high risk piracy area’s, the AIS transmitter might be switched off then (no worries, we’ll get protected by a highly professional security team o/b).

When we are underway I’ll have very limited access to the internet, especially while in Asia. Once we are in Europe I might pick up a bit more GSM-networks. So if you want to contact me: please send an email and be patient, I promise I’ll come back to you at some point. Normal service should resume by the end of may.

