Martha & Justine in their younger years

Martha & Justine in Malta crop

Back in 2003 (in my younger years) I did a delivery trip from Bahrain to Trinidad on an ancient Amercian tug: the Justine, together with a similar vessel, the Martha. This turned out to be a remarkable trip which I still remember. I have written about it before in this post: Rats, rust and 2 old ladies.

Incidently I only recently found out something more about the history of these two tugs; they have been working on my regular stomping ground: The North Sea. Please see below pics from Shipspotting.com where both can be seen in Great Yarmouth.

The Martha (ex-Martha Theriot), now called Achilles.

Picture by Gary Markham via www.shipspotting.com
Picture by Gary Markham via http://www.shipspotting.com

The Justine (ex-Toya Alario), maybe still called Justine.

Picture by Gary Markham via www.shipspotting.com
Picture by Gary Markham via http://www.shipspotting.com

And from what I can find on the interwebs at least the Achilles is still working,  she can be seen in this fleet overview from A.R. Singh Contractors. I’m not to sure about the “active”-status of the Justine.

What I also found was a press release from Marcon International, Inc. about the sale of the two tugs which was the start of our adventure 10 years ago, see here.

