Zware Kees

Zware Kees (translated : Heavy Kees) is a book by Kees Wiersum, it consists of all his columns he wrote for the Dutch weekly maritime newspaper Schuttevaer. And in those columns he sketches an image of the everyday life on board, about the over the top maritime bureaucracy, the strange habits of his colleagues and the everlasting wondering about the things authorities make up to make our life on board more miserable. The connection to me?? He is sailing on ships I used to sail on in the beginning of my career: the Biglift Fleet. And besides that: I recognise a lot of the things he writes about, from my experience in the past & nowadays. Just goes to show that nothing has changed & all companies act the same.
Obviously the book is in Dutch and you can buy it here.

